Memphis Metro CountiesIt’s in the name, but different people may have different ideas of what it means. Officially, it’s a Metropolitan Statistical Area defined by the United States Office of Management and Budget known fully as “Memphis, TN-MS-AR Metropolitan Statistical Area”. It is made up of the following counties:

  • Crittenden
  • Benton
  • DeSoto
  • Tunica
  • Tate
  • Marshall
  • Tipton
  • Shelby
  • Fayette

General county statistics:

State County Area in mi² Licensed Amateurs
TN Tipton County 471.294 157
AR Crittenden County 633.952 89
TN Shelby County 781.148 1645
TN Fayette County 705.992 109
MS DeSoto County 494.845 340
MS Benton County 407.75 6
MS Marshall County 707.16 53
MS Tunica County 477.762 1
MS Tate County 410.362 47
Total 5090.265 2447

Geodata is 2001 County Boundary Map from National Atlas by the USGS
Amateur data is calculated from “active” amateur radio operators in the FCC ULS as of February 12 2014, geolocated via Bing!

Clearly, there is a wide range of user density throughout the region. As a result, deployment decisions will be made with this in mind.